Cannabis Rules and Regulations: Alaska

Cannabis Rules and Regulations: Alaska

Alaska Cannabis History


Recreational use of cannabis has been legal in Alaska since 2015’s Measure 2 went into effect.  It was initially legalized by the court ruling Ravin v. State in 1975, but later recriminalized by Measure 2 in 1990. Ballot measures in 2000 and 2004 attempted (but failed) to legalize recreational use, until finally Measure 2 in 2014 passed with 53.2% of the vote.  More recently in January, 2020, the state’s first on-site consumption license was approved.

Alaska Child-Resistant Packaging Rules

With both medical and recreational programs in place, Alaska’s guidelines for child-resistant marijuana packaging are outlined in 3 AAC 306.345. Packaging and labeling and include the following:

  • A retail marijuana store must ensure that marijuana products are sold in opaque, resealable, child-resistant packaging when the buyer leaves the retail section of the licensed premises.
  • Packaging must protect product from contamination, toxins, or damaging substances and be designed or constructed to be significantly difficult for children under five years of age to open, but not difficult for adults to use properly. 
  • Containers and packaging for edible products cannot contain printed images including cartoon characters specifically targeted to individuals under 21 years of age.
  • If marijuana is packed in bulk with multiple servings, the serving size and number of servings must be clearly marked.
  • Labels must include the name of licensed testing facility and any required tests performed as well as the results of each test. Cultivation and product facilities may not label marijuana as organic.

Useful Links for Alaska Cannabis Regulations:

Like all states that authorize the use of cannabis, marijuana, and CBD products, Alaska also mandates that the packaging is child-resistant and labeled in accordance with the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act (“FDCA”).

Alaska Cannabis Growers Application

Editor's Note: Status as of 4/1/2021

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | Washington D.C. | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming


Older Post Newer Post