Cannabis Rules & Regulations: Nebraska

Cannabis Rules & Regulations: Nebraska

Nebraska Cannabis History

Both medical and recreational cannabis remain illegal in Nebraska.  After the 2014 US Farm Bill allowed legalized the cultivation of hemp with less than 0.3% THC, Nebraska passed LB 1001. Also known as the Nebraska Hemp Farming Act, LB 1001 was signed into law in May 2019.  CBD that is derived from the marijuana plant is still considered illegal in the state and federally.

Nebraska Child-Resistant Packaging Rules

Like all states that authorize the use of CBD products, Nebraska mandates that the packaging is child-resistant and labeled in accordance with the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act (“FDCA”). Under the FDCA, the labels of any product sold in the United States, including child-resistant CBD and marijuana packaging, must contain four basic elements:


  • 1. An identity statement saying what the product is
  • 2. The net weight
  • 3. An ingredient list, with hemp, CBD, and THC clearly identified
  • 4. The name and address of the manufacturer/distributor.

Child-resistant packaging rules apply to the CBD products currently available as a way to safeguard children while making medicines accessible to the elderly, much like prescription medicines.  The Poison Prevention Packaging Act establishes the standards for child-safe packaging on many products, including those containing medical and recreational marijuana products.

Useful Links for Nebraska Cannabis Regulations

Nebraska Hemp Growers FAQ
Nebraska Hemp Farming Act Full Text
Nebraska Hemp Growers Association

Nebraska Cannabis Growers Application

Nebraska Hemp Cultivators Application

Editor's Note: State status as of 4/1/2021

Alabama | Alaska | Arizona | Arkansas | California | Colorado | Connecticut | Delaware | Florida | Georgia | Hawaii | Idaho | Illinois | Indiana | Iowa | Kansas | Kentucky | Louisiana | Maine | Maryland | Massachusetts | Michigan | Minnesota | Mississippi | Missouri | Montana | Nebraska | Nevada | New Hampshire | New Jersey | New Mexico | New York | North Carolina | North Dakota | Ohio | Oklahoma | Oregon | Pennsylvania | Rhode Island | South Carolina | South Dakota | Tennessee | Texas | Utah | Vermont | Virginia | Washington | Washington D.C. | West Virginia | Wisconsin | Wyoming

Older Post Newer Post